Worshipping the Gods

A cyberspace cadet, Rajiv in Minnesota, mentions that Hinduism has the tradition of the Pancha Gods and wonders if he has to worship all the Gods equally before his Ishta Devata, [or] if he has to really worship Ganesha first. (or) “How does all this work out?”

Hinduism has four major traditions – Saivism, Saktism, Vaishnavisim and Smartism.The Smartas have the Ishta Devata concept of the five Gods. (And) If you were to become a Sakta, you would be worshiping Durga or one of the forms of the Divine Mother. If you were to become Saivite, you would be worshiping Siva. (And) If you were a Vaishnavite, of course you would be worshiping Vishnu. But, what ties all of these denominations together is that we all must worship Lord Ganesha first.

In the beautiful book, ‘Dancing with Siva, Hinduism’s Contemporary Catechism’, all of this is explained in detail. We suggest you acquire it and read it.

Categories: Deities
Tags: Upadesha
Author: Satguru Sivaya Subramuniyaswami
Scroll to Top